Directly to

 

Project TERAPAN

The project »TERAPAN«, funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) as part of the funding program »validation of the innovation potential of scientific research -  VIP« is supposed to provide the experimental proof that using terahertz communication and cost-effective, monolithic integrated transmitter and receiver circuits, data rates of up to 100 Gbit/s in a wireless personal area network (WPAN) are feasible.

The successful validation will allow an immense leap in innovation compared to today's WPAN methods with a maximum data rate of only several Gbit/s. At the same time, the feasibility of cost-effective electronic transmitter and receiver circuits, realizable with small form factors, in contrast to today's prohibitively expensive solutions is to be proven for the industry.

With respect to increasing demands of data rate for WPAN applications such as "home theater", so-called kiosk applications and data synchronization of storage media, TERAPAN show an immense market potential.

In this research project, in addition to the ILH, the Technical University of Braunschweig and the Fraunhofer IAF are involved.

 

Information:

http://www.validierungsfoerderung.de/VIP

http://www.terapan.de/

Direkt zu

 

Projekt TERAPAN

Das Projekt »TERAPAN« wird vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) im Rahmen der Fördermaßnahme »Validierung des Innovationspotenzials wissenschaftlicher Forschung – VIP« gefördert und soll den experimentellen Beweis erbringen, dass mit Hilfe der Terahertz-Kommunikation und kosteneffizienten, monolithisch integrierten Sende- und Empfangsschaltungen Datenraten von bis zu 100 Gbit pro Sekunde in einem Wireless Personal Area Network (WPAN) erzielbar sind.

Die erfolgreiche Validierung erlaubt eine Sprunginnovation im Vergleich zu heutigen WPAN Verfahren mit maximal lediglich mehreren Gbit pro Sekunde Datenrate. Gleichzeitig soll für die Industrie der Beweis erbracht werden, dass, im Gegensatz zu den heutigen prohibitiv teuren Lösungen, kosteneffiziente elektronische Sender und Empfänger mit geringem Formfaktor realisiert werden können.

Mit Blick auf die stetig wachsenden Anforderungen an Datenraten für WPAN Anwendungen wie "home theatre", sogenannten Kioskanwendungen und der Datensynchronisation von Speichermedien, birgt »TERAPAN« ein großes Marktpotential.

An diesem Forschungsprojekt sind neben dem ILH die Technische Universität Braunschweig und das Fraunhofer Institut für Angewandte Festkörperphysik beteiligt.

 

Infos:

http://www.validierungsfoerderung.de/VIP

http://www.terapan.de/